Meditations UK
Rozalie Hirs - 2017

for piano and electronic sounds

Meditations is a cycle of reflective explorations on different aspects of music and musicianship in general, and the pianist’s musicianship in particular. For the cycle, these are, so far:

1. On continuity
2. On repetition
3. On tenderness
4. On lines (broken chords)
5. On imitation

Originally, movements 3, 4, and 5 together constituted the composition On Tenderness (2017), and can be still combined as such. For Meditations, the pianist is free to alter the order in which the available movements are played. New movements will be added over the years to come.

The work is dedicated to Philip Thomas.