Karlheinz Stockhausen - Klavierstück VII

Klavierstück VII forms part of the cycle of 21 piano pieces on which Stockhausen began work in 1952. The cycle remains incomplete but for many commentators the finest music in the cycle is in the group of four pieces, from IV to VIII, which Stockhausen wrote in 1954 and 1955. This group of pieces was dedicated to the American pianist David Tudor, whose formidable technique inspired much of the most challenging new piano music of the 1950s, most notably John Cage's Music of Changes. In Klavierstück VII we can hear Stockhausen revelling in the sonic possibilities of the piano, his ears opened by the new sounds he was developing in the electronic music studio and his imagination challenged by Tudor's commitment to the most radical exploration of piano sonority.

Klavierstück VII
Peter Hill Performs
St-Paul's Hall


Peter Hill